Central Illinois Home Inspection Services

Central Illinois Home Inspection Services

Illinois Home Inspection Services to Illuminate the Unexpected and Provide Peace of Mind

Maintaining, buying, or selling your home can be stressful! After all, there are all sorts of things that can go wrong with your home. Especially when it has to endure four dynamic seasons in Central Illinois, year after year. If you want to avoid as much of that stress as possible, it’s essential that you discover what’s about to go awry in your home before it does. So how do you gain the necessary insights?

A home inspection conducted by a certified AHIT home inspector is the best way to discover major and minor issues with your home before they become seriously expensive problems.

At Lucent Home Inspections we offer a suite of Central Illinois home inspection services to help you mitigate surprises and illuminate what’s going on inside and outside your home. Our goal is to help you make informed decisions and gain peace of mind when it comes to your home.

Illinois Home Inspection Services We Offer

01

Buyer’s Home Inspection

A home purchase might be one of the largest investments you will make in your lifetime. The last thing you want is for that investment to be undermined by major issues that will end up costing you thousands of dollars down the road.

Find out how our buyer’s home inspection service will help you make an informed home purchase.

02

Home Inspection for Sellers

If you are trying to sell your home, you don’t want your deal getting derailed by the discovery of a major issue.

Not only do our pre-sale home inspections help you ensure your deal will go through, they will help you accurately price your home to ensure you get the most upside possible.

03

Home Maintenance Inspections

It should come as no surprise to most that the cost of emergency home repairs typically exceeds the cost of general home maintenance.

Using a home inspection to inform your maintenance strategy is the best way to avoid as many expensive surprises as possible.

04

Apartment & Condo Inspections

While HOAs are typically responsible for upkeep and maintenance outside of a condo or apartment, you are responsible for everything inside.

A home inspection is a great way to assess the overall “health” of the condo or apartment you are buying, selling, or maintaining.

What Our Inspection Customers Say

As a Central Illinois home inspector, we are dedicated to an unparalleled level of customer service. Yes, we inspect your home and provide you with a detailed report of our findings. However, unlike many other home inspectors, we go a step beyond and provide you with the guidance and direction you need to help you quickly address any issues and create a long-term plan for home maintenance and upkeep.

Here’s what some of our satisfied customers have to say:

  • Greg does a phenomenal job!! I would recommend him to anyone. He is friendly on time and very thorough. Thank you Greg

    Aden Graber Avatar
    Aden Graber
    10/16/2020
  • I met Greg Bradle on the site. He completed a home buyers inspection and did a great job. The report was thorough, easy to read, and full of links to related information for each point of inspection. ... read more

    Mike Gingerich Avatar
    Mike Gingerich
    8/27/2020
  • Lucent Home Inspections provided me with a detailed review in a timely manner at a fair price. I was very impressed with their excellent communication and desire to satisfy their customer. I would highly recommend LHI to new and experienced... read more

    Luke Kupferschmid Avatar
    Luke Kupferschmid
    8/21/2020
  • One stop shop for all of the inspections that we needed when buying an old farm house. Highly recommended.

    Sapper 1983 Avatar
    Sapper 1983
    8/12/2020
  • Greg from Lucent was very professional and helpful with our home inspection. He was willing to explain the details to us as first time home buyers, and his information was very helpful. The report was detailed and nothing was... read more

    Kirk Streitmatter Avatar
    Kirk Streitmatter
    7/24/2020
  • Greg was fantastic to work with for our apartment building. He is an excellent communicator and always responded back quickly to any requests! His inspection was presented very well and contained detailed, honest, and informative data. The billing process was... read more

    Trent Wyss Avatar
    Trent Wyss
    7/24/2020
  • Excellent and timely service. I like the one-stop shop for all the needed home inspections.
    I got a reply to all my inquiries in timely manner. Comprehensive and easy to follow inspection reports.

    F B Avatar
    F B
    7/13/2020
  • Used Lucent for a pre-selling home inspection. Greg was more than willing to allow me to tag along so I could be familiar with what he was looking at, answered all my questions along the way, and provided some insight... read more

    Alex Grohsmeyer Avatar
    Alex Grohsmeyer
    5/04/2020
  • Our home inspection was needed prior to listing our home for sale. Greg was personable and knowledgeable from the first phone contact. Flexible with scheduling to meet our needs and very thorough in his inspection. At completion he reviewed immediate... read more

    Kimberley Krowlek Avatar
    Kimberley Krowlek
    2/25/2020
  • I have used several inspectors in the past. I must say this is the best one I have ever had. The report is well documented, pictures are very clear and excellent quality and you can tell what the inspector is... read more

    Richard McConnell Avatar
    Richard McConnell
    2/20/2020

The Home Inspection Process

Every Central Illinois home inspector has a slightly different process. Here’s the one we follow every time to ensure we deliver the most comprehensive home inspection report possible.

Visual Inspection

Visual Inspection

Using our experience, expertise and eyes, we start with a visual inspection of your home’s interior, exterior, and the grounds immediately surrounding it to identify anything that might be an issue.

Test Operational Items

Test Operational Items

If it has a function we make sure it’s working. We test the various systems of your home to ensure all of them are in working order and estimate how long you have before they start to fail.

Organize Findings

Organize Findings

After we have thoroughly reviewed your home’s structural and operational systems, we start to prioritize the findings so that we can alert you of concerns related to safety, function, and maintenance.

Deliver Report

Deliver Report

Once we have all the information, we bake it into a comprehensive and highly useful report including our findings and recommendations for the future. See an example report here.

What Our Central Illinois Home Inspections Include

We pride ourselves on delivering thorough home inspections that don’t cut corners. Explore this list to get an idea of the various aspects of your home we will inspect.

What our Home Inspection Services Include
Roof Inspection

Roof Inspection

At LHI, we always go up and walk on your roof if the conditions permit. Wear and tear, leaks, wind and hail damage, missing shingles, faulty repairs, organic growth, gutter damage and more. You might be surprised just how much can go wrong with a roof. That’s why we make sure yours is properly set up to protect your home for the foreseeable future.

Exterior Inspection

Exterior Inspection

The exterior of your home includes just about everything you can see outside from the roof to the foundation and everything in between. We’ll do a thorough visual examination and make sure you know about any potential problems.

Interior Inspection

Interior Inspection

When it comes to our interior inspection we focus on floors, ceilings, walls, doors, windows, counters and just about anything else built within a home. We even crawl up into your attic and down into your crawl space to make sure the vapor barriers, insulation, plumbing, electrical, and structural elements are all doing what they should be.

Foundation Inspection

Foundation Inspection

While we look for cracks and other damage apparent in the foundation itself, the more telling signs of a damaged foundation might appear elsewhere in a home. Cracks in walls, uneven flooring, sagging roofs, moisture intrusion and more indicate foundation issues that we’ll be sure to notify you of.

Kitchen Inspection

Kitchen Inspection

If a burner doesn’t work, the cabinets don’t open, the light in the fridge is burnt out or there is a mold issue under the sink, you’ll be sure to know about it. We’ll ensure the appliances work and your kitchen is ready to take on your next Thanksgiving dinner.

HVAC Inspection

HVAC Inspection

Central Illinois temps range from -20 °F in the winter to all the way to 100+ °F during the summer months. That means you need a HVAC system that will make your home a sanctuary during those extremes. We’ll ensure your HVAC system is up to the job and tell you if it isn’t.

Electrical Inspection

Electrical Inspection

We regularly find exposed wires, faulty plugs, blown fuses, outdated appliances, burnt out sockets, electrical hazards and more. There’s a lot that can go wrong with electricity in a home and our inspection is centered around helping you fix issues and ensure the safety of everyone in your home.

Plumbing Inspection

Plumbing Inspection

Sinks, toilets, tubs, water heaters, spigots and sump pumps are just the start when it comes to our plumbing inspection. We’ll try to get our eyes on anywhere water runs in your house and make sure no leaks or damage exist that might lead to a soggy surprise.

Garage & Driveway Inspection

Garage & Driveway Inspection

We take a look at your garage to ensure the doors work, the necessary safety measures exist, and that there is an opener. We’ll also check your driveway for cracks and other issues that might result in expensive repairs.

If you want to go deeper, learn more about our Professional Home Inspection Checklist and see all the additional home inspection services you can add on to any home inspection.

Central Illinois Inspection Service Area

Based in Eureka, Illinois, Lucent Home Inspections is perfectly situated to serve a wide variety of communities across Central Illinois. We regularly provide home inspections within the Greater Peoria and Bloomington/Normal areas.

If your home is in the green circle below, we’ll inspect it. If it’s just outside our service area, give us a call and we’ll let you know if we can help you out.

Service Area Map